Skip to main content

HESS Faculty and Staff

HESS Faculty


Athletic Training

  • Susan McGowen (Principle Lecturer)
  • Dice Shibata (Assistant Professor)
  • Kevin Schroeder (Lecturer III)
  • Sara Nottingham (Associate Professor)

Exercise Science

  • Ann Gibson ( Professor)
  • Leonard Kravitz ( Professor)
  • Christine Mermier (Associate Professor, Lab Director)
  • Fabiano Amorim (Assistant Professor)
  • Flavio de Castro Magalhaes (Visiting Scholar)

Health Education

  • Magdalena Avila (Associate Professor)
  • Lorenda Belone (Associate Professor)
  • Eli Duryea (Professor Emeritus)
  • Christina Perry (Associate Professor, Department Chair)
  • Shixi Zhao (Assistant Professor)
  • Elba Saavedra (Lecturer III)
  • Angelica Boyle (Visiting Lecturer II)

Physical Education Teacher Education

  • Glenn Hushman (Associate Professor)
  • Holly Kowalski (Lecturer III)
  • Karen Gaudreault (Assistant Professor)

Sport Administration

  • John Barnes (Associate Professor)
  • Joy Griffin (Associate Professor)
  • Todd Seidler (Professor)
  • Luke Mao (Assistant Professor)
  • Allison Smith (Assistant Professor)

HESS Program Coordinators


Athletic Training

Dr. Sara Nottingham
nottingham@unm.edu

Exercise Science

Dr. Leonard Kravitz
lkravitz@unm.edu

Exercise Science (Graduate Programs)

Dr. Ann Gibson
alg@unm.edu

Health Education

Dr. Magdalena Avila
avilam@unm.edu

Physical Education Teacher Education

Dr. Karen Gaudreault
kgaudreault@unm.edu

Sports Administration

Todd Seidler
tseidler@unm.edu

Physical Education Non-Professional Program

Suzanne Williams (Interim Director PENP & Visiting Lecturer III)
sewilliams@unm.edu

HESS Staff


Dwight Zier
HESS Department Administrator
Johnson Center 1150B
505-277-8173
d29zier@unm.edu

Dwight oversees the daily administrative functions of the department office and supervises the staff. He assists with the development and management of the operating budget. He manages faculty, part-time instructors, graduate assistant, and teaching assistant contracts. He serves as department liaison to central offices of the college and university.

Domenica Romaniello
Coordinator, Education Support

Johnson Center 1150
505-277-0987
dromaniello@unm.edu

Domenica provides administrative support to the HESS Department and serves as the first contact person for all HESS PhD and MS graduate programs. She receives all inquiries from potential graduate students and provides administrative support to all graduate students and faculty. She also provides financial administrative duties for the department.

Tina Felix
Coordinator, Education Support
Johnson Center 1150
505-277-5152
tfelix01@unm.edu
Tina is the first point of contact for faculty support, including reimbursements, travel, purchasing. She is also the backup support for HESS Academic Functions and scheduling rooms. She is the support person for event and event planning, and Tina is the Zoom point person for the department.

Nicole Chauvet
Program Coordinator: Exercise Physiology Lab 
Johnson Center, B143 
505-277-2658
nchauvet@unm.edu